bestodds logo

2024 EPL Top Goalscorer Betting Odds

2024 EPL Top Goalscorer Betting Odds

The Premier League top goalscorer is an exciting futures bet that a lot of bettors like to wager on.

Instead of focusing on a club’s collective achievement, this betting market focuses on a player’s individual accomplishment.

For strikers and attackers, being the top goalscorer in one of the hardest leagues is a worthy achievement and is something that many players dream of.

With the likes of Cristiano Ronaldo and Romelu Lukaku joining the Premier League, there is a lot of competition this season.

Harry Kane will be looking to win his fourth Golden Boot and tie with the legendary Thiery Henry, while the likes of Jamie Vardy and Mo Salah will hope to be the league’s top scorer once again.

If you’re interested in this betting market, read on for our EPL top goalscorer betting preview.

How Is The Winner Decided?

The player with the most goals after the 38-game season is crowned as the league’s top scorer and is given a Golden Boot to mark that achievement.

If two or more players end the season with the same number of goals, then they all share the award.

EPL Top Goalscorer Betting Odds Report

This season, there are six previous Golden Boot winners. These are the following players: Cristiano Ronaldo, Harry Kane, Jamie Vardy, Mohamed Salah, Sadio Mané, and Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang.

So it’s fair to say that a lot of goalscoring competition is expected this season.

The Favorites

Cristiano Ronaldo – One of the greatest players of all time is back in the Premier League. Ronaldo made a name for himself at Manchester United before he left for Real Madrid, and now he’s back to torment defenders and keepers once again.

Ronaldo was the Premier League’s top goalscorer in the 2007/08 season with 31 goals, and he also won the European Golden Shoe during that same season.

Last season at Juventus, he scored 29 goals and was also the league’s top goalscorer. For a player who literally scores for fun, it’s no surprise that he’s the bookies’ favorite to clinch this award.

Romelu Lukaku – Lukaku scored 47 goals during his two-year spell at Inter Milan. He formed a deadly partnership with Lautaro Martinez, and their partnership helped Inter win the 2020/21 Serie A title for the first time since the 2009/10 season.

Now, he’s back at Chelsea and will be hoping to lead the line just as he did at Inter Milan.

Harry Kane – Kane wanted to go to Man City during the summer transfer window, but Spurs didn’t want to let go of their star player.

So he might be stuck at Tottenham for at least one more season, but he’ll still want to prove himself in case Pep’s City comes knocking on his door once again.

He’s finished as the league’s top scorer on three different occasions, and he’ll be eager to win the Golden Boot award one more time to match Thierry Henry’s Record of four Golden Boots.

Kane is still in his prime, so he may not only match the record but set his own Golden Boot record.

Mohamed Salah – At this point, Salah has proved that he’s one of the league’s best and most consistent players. He won back-to-back golden boots from 2018 to 2019 and was one goal shy of winning the 2020/21 Golden Boot.

Unlike the other top teams, Liverpool didn’t sign another attacker and will have to rely on Mo Salah for goals.

However, he may take part in the upcoming Africa Cup of Nations tournament—which is scheduled for January 2022, right in the middle of the season—meaning that he may miss a healthy chunk of Liverpool’s season.

Jamie Vardy – Vardy is another player who’s proved that his success wasn’t a fluke. His goals helped Leicester win the 2015/16 Premier League title, and he also won the Golden Boot in the 2019/20 season.

He scored 15 goals last season and will be eager to improve on that tally this season.

The Contenders

Bruno Fernandes – Bruno Fernandes scored 18 goals in the Premier League last season and was Manchester United’s top scorer. This season, however, with the return of Cristiano, he’s expected to play the role of provider.

Plus, Ronaldo will take most of Manchester United’s penalties, meaning that Bruno Fernandes may not hit last season’s high.

Sadio Mane – Sadio Mane scored 11 goals last season, though it was still a pretty underwhelming season from him compared to his last few seasons.

This season, he’ll want to redeem himself and get back to his world-class form. With the help of many reinvigorated Liverpool players by his side, he may just rediscover the form that helped him win the 2018/19 Golden Boot.

Dominic Calvert-Lewin – Everton’s main man may benefit from the arrival of Rafael Benitez. Calvert-Lewin scored 16 goals last season in an Everton side that didn’t quite live up to expectations.

Under the guidance of Benitez, Calvert-Lewin is expected to improve on last season’s output, which could help him win the Golden Boot.

Son Heung-min – Aside from Kane, Spurs have Son’s goals and assists to look forward to as well. The South Korean has a great partnership with Harry Kane, and he recently signed a long-term deal with the club, proving his loyalty to them.

He scored 17 goals in the league last season, which is a tally that was only bettered by three other players.

Patrick Bamford – In Leeds United’s first season back in the Premier League, Patrick Bamford was more than an influential figure.

He scored 17 goals, which helped Leeds United to a ninth-place finish. He’ll be hoping for a similar output this season, especially if he wants to help Leeds assert their Premier League status.

Danny Ings – Danny Ings revived his career at Southampton. He scored 12 goals last season and was instrumental in helping Southampton avoid the drop.

Now, he’s at Aston Villa. With the departure of Jack Grealish, he’ll be hoping to be the team’s main attacking threat.

EPL Top Goalscorer Historical Winners

SeasonPremier League Golden Boot winnerTeamNo. Of Goals
2020/21Harry KaneTottenham Hotspur23
2019/20Jamie VardyLeicester City23
2018/19Mohamed SalahSadio ManéPierre-Emerick AubameyangLiverpoolLiverpoolArsenal22 each
2017/18Mohamed SalahLiverpool32
2016/17Harry KaneTottenham Hotspur29
2015/16Harry KaneTottenham Hotspur25
2014/15Sergio AgüeroManchester City26
2013/14Luis SuárezLiverpool31
2012/13Robin van PersieManchester United26
2011/12Robin van PersieArsenal30

How To Bet On English Premier League Top Goalscorer

If you want to bet on who will be the EPL top goalscorer, here’s a step-by-step guide:

  1. Go to your sports betting account.
  2. Select ‘Soccer’ from the list of available sports.
  3. Click on ‘English Premier League Betting.’
  4. Click on the ‘Futures’ tab.
  5. Scroll down till you see the ‘EPL Top Goalscorer’ betting market.
  6. Select the player that you want to bet on.
  7. A bet slip will pop up. Enter the amount that you want to wager and then place your bet.