2023 NFC North Betting Odds

2023 NFC North Betting Odds

Oh, my, are we in for a treat in the NFC North? The quarterback situations alone are so intriguing.

The fact that Minnesota Vikings’ QB Kirk Cousins is the one with a safe spot under center is ludicrous. Aaron Rodgers seems in no way interested in playing for the Green Bay Packers.

The Chicago Bears have THREE QBs competing. Either journeymen like Andy Dalton or Nick Foles or a highly-touted rookie like Justin Fields will be under center.

Those three teams will be either top teams or disastrous franchises. The one truth we have in the NFC North is that the Detroit Lions are still the worst team in the division.

This is a complete article for the NFC North division. A recap, a preview, and a betting guide all await; keep reading.

2023 NFC North Odds

2023 NFC North Outlook & Predictions

This segment of the article puts us in a real pickle. Why? Well, let’s start with the Rodgers-Packers saga. If he stays, Green Bay is cruising through this division. If he leaves, it’s wide open for the taking. He is the reason they are Super Bowl contenders or an under .500 team. 

It’s a big question mark right now for Green Bay. They are literally dancing between Super Bowl contenders or a top 10 pick in the upcoming NFL Draft.

Minnesota made some moves this offseason. Defensive playmakers are coming to the North. Patrick Peterson, Nick Vigil, and Mackensie Alexander should improve the Vikings’ defense. 

As for the offense, Justin Jefferson, Adam Thielen, and Dalvin Cook are all back. Kirk Cousins is still their QB, so there’s that, but the season should be better than the 2020s.

Will it be Andy Dalton, Nick Foles, or Justin Fields? Yes, the answer you just thought of is the correct one, but will Matt Nagy pull the trigger on Fields? It doesn’t seem like it, as Dalton appears to be the frontrunner.

Expect a good defense from the Bears, a playmaker like WR Allen Robinson, and lots of drama regarding their QB. Matt Nagy is still in the hot seat, so is GM Ryan Pace; so if things don’t start well for the Bears, expect fast changes.

Detroit sent Matthew Stafford away and now has Jared Goff as their QB1 downgrade. There is a new head coach in Dan Campbell and drafted Penei Sewell, the highest-graded OT in this class. 2021 is just the beginning of a long road to recovery for the Lions.

2020 NFC North Results

If Aaron Rodgers has an MVP season, then that means the Green Bay Packers won the division. For the second year in a row, they ended up with a 13-3 record and a loss in the NFC Championship Game. 

Their offense was unstoppable. Rodgers, Davante Adams, and Aaron Jones are a triple threat to be aware of.

After a rollercoaster season, the Bears got to the postseason. They started with a 5-1 record and a victory over eventual champion Buccaneers. 

Then they lost six straight. They ended at 8-8, but even after a playoffs spot, a need for change was clear as day.

Oh, the Vikings. Poised to be an NFC North protagonist, they were so bad it hurt. Defensively, it was just a bad sight all season long. 

They found a star in wideout Justin Jefferson; that’s a silver lining. He and Dalvin Cook were able to get some games for the Vikes but weren’t enough to bring a successful season.

Matt Patricia does what he does best, and that’s awful coaching. He didn’t even finish the season. Detroit was bad in all facets of the game. If there was something we could point out as a bright spot, it is running back D’Andre Swift.

He had some bright spots, but oh my, did Detroit disappoint even by Matt Patricia’s standards.

Past NFC North Division Winners

2020Green Bay Packers13-3
2019Green Bay Packers13-3
2018Chicago Bears12-4
2017Minnesota Vikings13-3
2016Green Bay Packers10-6
2015Minnesota Vikings11-5
2014Green Bay Packers12-4
2013Green Bay Packers8-7-1
2012Green Bay Packers11-5
2011Green Bay Packers15-1
2010Chicago Bears11-5

How To Bet On NFL Division Winners

First things first, do your homework on each team. You don’t want to place lots of money on Green Bay just to see Rodgers leave and lose it all. After doing your homework, shop for the best lines before placing any wagers.

When reading an odds table, there are some numbers to understand. It all starts with the odds. Odds show you who the favorite is; you can detect it by finding the team with the lower number.

For example, $100 on Minnesota (+225). A win would give you a profit of $225 and a total payout of $325.

Next up, take a look at the handle to know the percentage of the total bet on a team to win the NFC North. If the Bears have 42% of the handle, then 42% of the money bet on the NFC North winner will go to Chicago.

The last thing is the percentage of bets. This states the numbers of bets—but not the amount wagered—each team is receiving.

The Packers can have 65% of all bets but have only a 38% of the handle, meaning smaller bets are coming their way.

Step-By-Step To Bet On Divisional Winners

1. Log into your sportsbook account.

2. Select the NFL tab.

3. Click on the Division’s tab from the drop-down menu.

4. Pick the odds and team you will bet on.

5. Make your bet official at the bet slip window—usually on the right side of the screen.

Betting Odds For NFC Divisions

2021 NFC West Division Odds

2021 NFC South Division Odds

2021 NFC East Division Odds