bestodds logo

2024 NFL DPOY Odds


Malcolm Darnley

Updated: Aug 6, 2023

  • DraftKings logo
    Claim Bet $5 Get $150 Instantly
    Claim Now21+ to wager. Please Gamble Responsibly. Gambling problem? Call or Text 1-800-GAMBLER, 877-8-HOPENY or text HOPENY (467369) (NY), 800-327-5050 (MA), 800-NEXT-STEP (AZ), 800-522-4700 (KS, NV), 800-BETS-OFF (IA), 800-270-7117(MI), 877-718-5543 (NC).

When it comes to Defensive Player of the Year award betting (DPOY), history tells us that the winning player could line up at any defensive position on the field.

That differs from the NFL MVP Award, which is almost always awarded to a quarterback.

Over the last four seasons, the DPOY winner has played Defensive End (Nick Bosa), Linebacker (TJ Watt), Defensive Tackle (Aaron Donald), and Cornerback (Stephon Gilmore).

This year’s DPOY contenders can also be found lined up all over the field.

2023 DPOY Contenders

Micah ParsonsDAL CowboysDE+650
Myles GarrettCLE BrownsDE+750
TJ WattPIT SteelersLB+800
Nick BosaSF 49ersDE+1200
Sauce GardnerNY JetsCB+1400

Micah Parsons Dallas Cowboys – In the 2021 NFL Draft, the Dallas Cowboys selected Micah Parsons from Penn St. Of the first 13 picks in that draft, seven of those players have already been to a Pro Bowl.

The 2021 draft was loaded with talent, and yet Micah Parsons stands out as one of the best players in that draft.

In two seasons so far, Parsons already has 26.5 sacks. In 2022, the Cowboys pass rusher had 65 total tackles, 42 of them were solo.

As a rookie, Parsons could put up more tackles and bigger stats, most likely because coordinators didn’t yet recognize his ability to impact a game.

Myles Garrett Cleveland Browns – 2022 was another season of Myles Garrett doing what Myles Garrett does so well, and that is rush the quarterback. With 16 sacks last year, Garrett was tied for second across the league.

His 60 total tackles and 37 solo tackles were both personal bests for Garrett.

The former first-overall pick of the 2017 draft may not have the accolades of Patrick Mahomes, who was selected 10th overall in 2017, but otherwise, Garrett might be the next-best player from that draft.

TJ Watt Pittsburgh Steelers – When TJ Watt plays football games, he is a disruptor that needs to be accounted for.

Unfortunately for Steelers fans, Watt could only suit up for ten games last year and couldn’t defend his 2021 DPOY Award.

In those ten games, the LB had two interceptions, one forced fumble, and 5.5 sacks.

Now that he has completed six professional seasons, Watt runs the risk of starting to show some wear and tear. It’s hard to play at such a dominant level and find a way to dress for all 17 games.

If the Pittsburgh linebacker can figure out a way to stay in the lineup this year – no doubt he will be in consideration for DPOY.

Nick Bosa San Francisco 49ers – Nick Bosa finished the 2022 NFL season as the best defensive player in football.

On the field, that is great news for the San Francisco 49ers defense, who were the best in the NFL last year, with Bosa being a big part of the reason why.

Off the field, it could explain why SF and Bosa are having trouble agreeing to a contract extension.

The last two seasons have seen Bosa become a truly dominant defender. The second overall pick of the 2019 draft has 34 sacks in the previous two years, with 80+ solo tackles and six forced fumbles during that time.

Sauce Gardner NY Jets – In the 2022 NFL draft, the NY Jets may have surprised a few football fans when they selected a corner out of the University of Cincinnati with the 4th overall pick.

However, after Jets fans watched Sauce Garner perform at the CB position for a year, nobody is surprised anymore.

As a rookie, Gardner was the best CB in the league. He led the NFL in forced incompletion rate, and the opposition could only complete a pass in his direction only once every 18 snaps.

At 6’3” and 200lbs, Gardner can defend any receiver and allows the Jets to leave him in isolation and overload other areas of the field.

NFL Defensive Player of the Year – How It Works

The Associated Press (AP) Defensive Player of the Year Award (DPOY) is handed out annually to the best defensive player in the NFL, as decided on by a panel of 50 AP sports writers.

The AP DPOY has been handed out since 1971. The award winner is announced annually the day before the Super Bowl is played.

NFL Defensive Player of the Year – 2022 Results

When the final votes were counted after last year’s regular season, Nick Bosa of the San Francisco 49ers won his first NFL DPOY Award.

PlayerTeam1st Place VotesTotal Points
Nick BosaSF 49ers46237
Micah ParsonsDAL Cowboys0101
Chris JonesKC Chiefs156
Hasson ReddickPHI Eagles219
Myles GarrettCLE Browns017

Micah Parsons was the definitive runner-up to Bosa, despite not earning a single first-place vote from any of the 50 voters.

Chris Jones and Hasson Reddick were the only players besides Bosa to earn a first-place vote last year.

NFL Defensive Player of the Year – Multiple Winners

In the history of the NFL DPOY Award, only eight players have been able to win the award multiple times. Three of those eight players managed to win it three times.

Three Time DPOY Award Winners

PlayerTotal DPOY AwardsYears
Lawrence Taylor3‘81, ‘82, ‘86
JJ Watt3‘12, ‘14, ‘15
Aaron Donald3‘17, ‘18, ‘20

LT, JJ, and AD are all a part of a very exclusive club.

Considering the great defensive players in the league’s history, when you are one of only three players to win three DPOY awards, you are clearly one of the game’s all-time greats.

Two-Time DPOY Award Winners

PlayerTotal AwardsYears
Joe Greene21972, ‘74
Mike Singletary21985, ‘88
Bruce Smith21990, ‘96
Reggie White21987. ‘98
Ray Lewis22000, ‘03

The above five players won the DPOY twice. All five players were easy selections into the NFL Hall of Fame.

Always Shop Around

Spending time in the data science lab studying stats and pouring through data analytics can be a considerable part of the enjoyment factor for many who enjoy sports gambling.

However, our greatest advantage as bettors over the sportsbooks is our ability to shop around and play only the Best Odds.

2023 DPOY MVP Odds

Chris Jones+2500+2500+3000
Haason Reddick+2500+3000+2200

When it comes to Chris Jones and Haason Reddick, both players earned first-place DPOY votes last year and finished in the top 5 overall voting.

If you look at their odds for this year’s award, you see a significant discrepancy in the odds being offered.

Imagine betting on Chris Jones at +2500 when +3000 is available.

For Haason Reddick, the gap is even more significant. +2200 is being offered at Caesars, but FanDuel is paying +3000 for the exact same wager.

How To Bet On Defensive Player Of The Year

To bet on the DPOY award, you have to:

1. Go into your sportsbook and log in.

2. Look for the NFL bets tab.

3. Select ‘Players Futures.’

4. Choose the DPOY market.

5. Click on the player you want to place a bet on.

6. Submit it from the bet slip window on the right-hand side.

2023 NFL Defensive Player Odds

For offensive player betting odds see our report here.


About the author

Malcolm loves to watch all kinds of different sports. He also writes about them.