2022 AFC East Betting Odds

After two decades of dominance by the New England Patriots, the AFC East saw a changing of the guard. The Buffalo Bills rose to the occasion and won the AFC East in 2020.

They also cemented themselves as Super Bowl contenders. It comes as no surprise to see the Bills as the favorites to repeat the AFC title in 2021.

The Miami Dolphins appear to be in good shape for the upcoming season, pushing for a playoff berth. As for the Patriots, they went on an unprecedented shopping spree in Free Agency.

They are not used to doing this, but they are less used to losing and taking matters into their hands to improve. Finally, the New York Jets had a great offseason. Despite this fact, the franchise was so far behind; they are still the lesser team in the division.

The division has three up-and-coming head coaches in Sean McDermott, Brian Flores, and Robert Saleh. All three will battle with the Dark Lord of the NFL in Bill Belichick in what should be an entertaining battle.

Let’s have a little 2020 recap and how the teams shape up for the 2021 season. Of course, a betting guide on the AFC East is also included. Let’s dive into it.

2022 AFC East Odds

2022 AFC East Outlook & Predictions

The Bills come as favorites and as a Super Bowl contender at +1300 odds to win it all this year. Offensive Coordinator Brian Daboll is one of the best in the league, so you can expect another monster year for the Bills’ offense.

They also added an enormous weapon like WR Emmanuel Sanders. Buffalo is locked and loaded for the 2021 season. This includes a second AFC East title at -150.

Miami put their faith in former University of Alabama quarterback Tua Tagovailoa. They also gave him new weapons to exploit. With wideouts like Will Fuller and Jaylen Waddle, there are no excuses for the young QB. The Dolphins also drafted pass rusher, Jaelan Phillips.

They had a top 10 defense last year and should repeat at the top tier in 2021. The +340 odds to win the AFC East look a bit far-fetched.

Belichick went crazy in Free Agency, outspending every other franchise. The Pats reinforced their roster everywhere. New receivers Nelson Agholor and tight-ends Jonnu Smith and Hunter Henry should ball. On defense, new names like DE Matt Judon and CB Jalen Mills will join forces with the likes of LB Dont’a Hightower.

The defense should also improve in 2021. With Belichick, you can’t really ignore the Pats. But there’s a reason their AFC East odds sit at +350; question marks are in the air, including QB Cam Newton.

It’s a new day and a new dawn for the New York Jets. The Adam Gase era is over, and Robert Saleh is at the helm. They also got rid of QB Sam Darnold and is no.2 overall pick QB Zach Wilson who will be under center.

Saleh has a great reputation, but this is his first job as head coach. It all starts with a culture change, and that’s the Jets’ goal for 2021.

2020 AFC East Results

The Bills became the first team since 2008 to dethrone the Patriots from the division title, in 2020.

QB Josh Allen was in spectacular form and was an MVP candidate. Guided by HC McDermott, the Bills earned a franchise-best 13 wins. With new key players like wideout Stefon Diggs, Buffalo was a powerhouse that ended in the AFC Championship Game.

Miami was in playoff contention but fell short in the end. It was an impressive season where HC Brian Flores was established as a top mind in the NFL. The Fins fought through it all despite not having a firm QB1.

All Patriots worries came to reality as they saw former QB Tom Brady winning elsewhere while they struggled all season long. Finishing under .500, last season was one to forget by New England.

The Jets were an absolute mockery last season. This doesn’t come as a surprise though when you see it was HC Adam Gase at the helm.

Past AFC East Division Winners

2020Buffalo Bills13-3
2019New England Patriots12-4
2018New England Patriots*11-5
2017New England Patriots13-3
2016New England Patriots*14-2
2015New England Patriots12-4
2014New England Patriots*12-4
2013New England Patriots12-4
2012New England Patriots12-4
2011New England Patriots13-3
2010New England Patriots14-2

*Super Bowl Champion

How To Bet On NFL Division Winners

Let’s start with one key point we’ve reiterated in other articles: always shop lines before betting. At the end of the day, the more money you get, the better, right?

When looking at the NFL betting odds, take some notes. First, the odds. These tell you which team is favored (the lower number, the more favored) and how much you would earn if you win the bet. For example, a $100 bet on New England (+350) would give you $325 of profit and a total payout of $425.

The next thing you should see is the handle. This represents the percentage of the total amount bet a team is receiving to win the division. For example, a 9% handle to the Dolphins means 9% of the AFC East winner has gone to Miami.

Finally, look at the percentage of bets. This refers to the number of wagers—not the amount—received for each team. For example, the Bills have an 85% of all bets, which doesn’t translate to how much was wagered on Buffalo.

They can have 85% of the bets, but 63% of the handle, meaning smaller bets are being placed on them.

Step-By-Step Process To Bet On NFL Divisional Winners

1. Go to your favorite sportsbook and log in.

2. Look for the NFL tab.

3. Click on the Division’s tab from the drop-down menu.

4. Choose the odds and team you will bet on.

5. Place your bet from the bet slip window—usually on the right side of the screen.

Betting Odds For AFC Divisions

2021 AFC West Division Odds

2021 AFC South Division Odds

2021 AFC North Division Odds